Web Browsers for Windows
Eight browsers for Windows, read from each developer's own pages on 23 October 2026. Six are built on Chromium, the engine behind Chrome and Edge, and two follow Firefox's engine. Browsers update every one to two weeks, so each version number below is a dated snapshot.
FreePcSofts is independent and not affiliated with any developer listed. Every download button opens the developer's official site.
Versions, engines and Windows requirements
| Program | Latest version | Released | Licence | Windows | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Google Chrome | 156.0.8078.49 | 22 Oct 2026 | Free (no licence text read) | 10+, 11 (ARM) | Free |
| Mozilla Firefox | 158.0.1 | 20 Oct 2026 | Open source (per Mozilla's page) | 10+; ESR for 8.1 and below | Free |
| Microsoft Edge | 156.0.4314.42 | 22 Oct 2026 | Free (no licence text read) | 10, 11 | Free |
| Brave | 1.97.57 | 14 Oct 2026 | Not stated on pages read | Not stated | Not stated (mobile free) |
| Opera | 138.0.6044.24 | 20 Oct 2026 (server listing) | Not stated on pages read | Not stated | Free browser; Pro VPN tier |
| Opera GX | 137.0.6036.65 | 15 Oct 2026 (server listing) | Not stated on pages read | Not stated | Not stated |
| Vivaldi | 8.2.4133.94 | Minor update 13 posted 23 Oct 2026 | Not stated on pages read | Not stated | Not stated |
| LibreWolf | 158.0.1-2 | 16 Oct 2026 | Not stated on pages read | 10 1709+ (WinGet only) | Not stated |
Scope: figures are copied from the eight Web Browsers program pages, each of which lists its sources. Where a developer's own pages disagree, the program page shows both values.
Choosing by engine and Windows version
Engine is the first split. Chrome, Edge, Brave, Opera, Opera GX and Vivaldi share Chromium, while Firefox and LibreWolf use Firefox's engine. Windows support is the second: Firefox 158 and Chrome list Windows 10 or later, Edge lists Windows 10 and 11 editions, and Microsoft says Edge support for Windows 7 to 8.1 ended in January 2023. Mozilla points Windows 8.1 users to Firefox ESR.
Several of these pages give no price, Windows minimum or licence text, and the table says so instead of guessing. The program pages list the sources.