Brave's own release page listed desktop version 1.97.57 dated 14 October 2026 and 1.97.56 dated 7 October 2026 when it was read. That is a one-week gap. Brave's GitHub release page and desktop changelog showed older 1.96 versions with Chromium 154 in the text we could read, so they were not used for the current version. Treat 1.97.57 as the latest listed on Brave's page and check brave://settings/help for yours.
Brave is a Chromium-based browser. Its download page says the browser "blocks ads and trackers that slow you down and invade your privacy," and offers it as a direct download and through the Microsoft Store. The desktop section names no price; the mobile section calls Brave a "fast, free, secure web browser".
What the pages say and do not say
| Question | What Brave's pages we read say |
|---|---|
| Price of the desktop browser | Not stated on the desktop section; mobile is called free |
| How to get it on Windows | Direct download or the Microsoft Store |
| Ad and tracker blocking | Stated as a core claim; the feature name is not given on the page |
| Rewards and the Basic Attention Token | Linked from a list, not described on this page |
| Leo AI assistant | Linked, not described for desktop |
| Brave Origin | Described as a streamlined, premium browser experience |
| Windows version requirement | Not stated on the pages read |
Scope: brave.com download page and brave.com/latest, read 23 Oct 2026. Where a row says not stated, the page gives no statement, which does not mean the feature or requirement does not exist.
The "Origin" line deserves attention. The page offers a streamlined, premium version of the browser and gives no price in the text read, so whether Origin is a paid product is not confirmed here.
Release notes and the Chromium link
Brave's changelog lists releases with the Chromium version each is built on, and the 1.96.x entries we could read were built on Chromium 154 and 153. One of those entries reverted a change to "farbling" support for certain schemes and fixed a crash in Private Window calculations. These lines come from the changelog text, and the dates were not shown there.
The practical point is that a Chromium-based browser inherits Chromium's engine updates. Edge's page shows Chromium-based releases arriving every 14 days, and Brave's version page shows a weekly rhythm in October, so check for updates often and let the browser update itself.
What Shields does by default
Brave's help article on Shields describes the privacy layer built into the browser. By default Shields blocks most ads and the trackers that come with them, discards cookies from sites other than the one you are visiting, makes the browser harder to recognise without cookies, and upgrades connections to HTTPS when a site supports it. It also blocks malicious code and sites, such as those that try to mine cryptocurrency on your computer.
You can fine-tune this in the Shields panel. The article says blocking all JavaScript and all cookies gives the most protection but may break some sites, and that the defaults aim for solid protection without making browsing harder. The article does not name specific blocking levels, so this page does not either.
Brave versions and the Chromium base
| Brave version | Chromium version in the changelog |
|---|---|
| 1.96.61 | 154.0.8037.98 |
| 1.96.60 | 154.0.8037.93 |
| 1.96.59 | 154.0.8037.58 |
| 1.95.104 | 153.0.8010.53 |
| 1.95.102 | 153.0.8010.48 |
Scope: Brave's desktop changelog on GitHub, read 23 Oct 2026. The changelog gave no dates in the text read, and its newest entry is older than the 1.97.57 on Brave's release page, so the changelog was reading as out of date. The table shows how Brave versions map to Chromium engine versions.
Edge's release notes show Chromium 156 reaching users on 22 October, while the newest Chromium in the Brave changelog we read is 154. That gap is one reason this page uses Brave's release page for the version and the changelog only for the pairing between Brave and Chromium numbers.
Before you install: a short check
- Choose how to get it. Brave's page offers a direct download and the Microsoft Store listing, and the pages do not say how the two differ in update behaviour.
- Find your Windows requirement elsewhere. Brave's download and release pages do not state a minimum, and Brave uses the Chromium engine, which Chrome's page ties to Windows 10 and up.
- Read about Brave Origin before choosing it. The page calls it a streamlined, premium experience and gives no price in the text read.
- Open brave://settings/help after installing to see the version, since the number on this page may be several days old.
Alternatives in this directory
Google Chrome and Microsoft Edge share the Chromium engine. Vivaldi is also Chromium-based and ships built-in mail, calendar and feed tools. Mozilla Firefox and LibreWolf use Firefox's engine. Opera bundles a free VPN and an ad blocker, according to its own page.